Orkney - West Mainland

The West Mainland is the largest part of the Orkney Mainland, with nine parishes. Only Harray is land-locked, while the westerly parishes of Birsay, Sandwick and Stromness have dramatic coastal scenery. The archaeological monuments of Skara Brae, Brodgar, Stenness and Maeshowe merit World Heritage Status, while the lochs afford wonderful Brown Trout fishing, and the varied habitats offer the birdwatcher delights at every season.